Where Fortune Lies -  Mary-Anne O'Connor

Where Fortune Lies - Mary-Anne O'Connor

  • $35.00
    Unit price per 
Or 10 interest free payments from $3.50 with What's this?
Tax included.


 An epic and lyrical tale of love, adventure and gambled fortunes that ranges from the wild cloaked woodlands of Ireland to the Victorian Alps of colonial Australia from a bestselling Australian author. For fans of Nicole Alexander, Colleen McCullough, and Fiona McIntosh.

1879: 'Invisible' Anne Brown fears she'll never escape the harshness and poverty of her life in County Donegal, Ireland. Until, one heartbreaking Beltane night, her life is changed forever and she leaves to seek her fortune in far-flung Australia.

Upon the death of their father, charismatic Will Worthington and his beloved sister Mari are stunned to find he has left all their money and a ticket to the far shores of Australia to an enigmatic painted woman. It seems their only hope for a brighter future also lies in Australia, where together with Will's best friend, the artist Charlie Turner, they seek their fortunes.

Charlie finds love with a mysterious exotic dancer, yet there is trouble on the horizon. His new friends up in the Victorian Alps might be teaching him to run with the wild horses and find his talent with a brush at last, but life in a bushranger gang is a dangerous game.

As Charlie struggles to break free from his fate, all four are left with impossible choices as fortunes waver between life and death, loyalty and the heart.

PRAISE

'A mix of history and escapism, and a strong sense of place, make this novel an enjoyable read for lovers of Australian history that deftly illuminate aspects of our national character in a positive way.' - Outback Magazine

9781489261533

or 6 weekly interest-free payments from $5.83 with what's this?